Kawha Tea

After gorging on all the muffins and breads and cakes, one does need something to balance it out. I had my first kawha tea after attending a tasting session for my brother’s wedding. In other words, I had tried decent sized portions of ALL the items on a wedding dinner menu. You can imagine how I was feeling – full to the neck. Then my host suggested the kawha tea with a very tall claim of making me feel light almost instantly. I smiled politely and rolled my eyes when he was not looking. How could that be possible that this liquid, that too a small portion, would diminish the effects of all the paneer, cheese and biryani I had chomped on. Anyway, I had to taste it and so I did. True to his claim, this miraculous tea made me feel so good and so shocked as well. So, I definitely had finalized one item on the menu of my brother’s wedding reception! Kawha tea just HAD to be there. Then a couple of months later, I had a very heavy lunch with the husband. As I was groaning and making futile promises of not over indulging again, I remembered this magic potion. After half hour of diligent ‘Google-ing’ I chanced upon this recipe. (My fault, I was not sure of the spelling).  So here goes –

Ingredients

2 tsp green tea

2 cloves

3 cardamom pods

1″ stick cinnamon

1 almond

2-3 saffron strands

1/2 tsp dry ginger powder

3 tsp sugar / honey (see note)

3 cups water

Directions

1. Boil three cups of water

2. Add the cinnamon, cloves, cardamom, dry ginger powder and sugar/honey.

3. Stir till the sugar is dissolved

4. Simmer for 3 minutes with the lid on

5. Add the green tea and turn off the heat

6. Put the lid on and leave it aside for one minute

7. Cut almonds into slivers and divide them equally among three cups

8. Add saffron equally to the same three cups

9. Sieve and pour the tea into the cups

Notes

1. If you are using honey instead of sugar, you will need around 1- 1 1/2 tbsp. You can add honey even after the tea is poured into the cups

2. Dry ginger is optional and is not part of the original recipe. I liked the slight taste of ginger and hence included it

3. If you like your tea strong, you can leave it to rest for more than 1 minute. I leave it for 3 minutes

4. Though the recipe does not say so, I found that the flavours (especially saffron) are infused better in the tea if left to rest for about 5 minutes after being poured into the cup

Leave a Reply

