Blogging Marathon – Apple Fritters

IMG-20150611-WA0017

Before you frown, let me tell you that I am one of you. I am also not in favor of cooking fruits in any way and believe that they taste best when eaten raw. Well, I don’t  even peel fruits if I can help it.But (of course there is a but) some recipes go beyond and call out to you. Don’t they? This is one such. So forgive. And while you are in that mood also extend the forgiveness to my future upside down pineapple cake which I will be making as soon as I get THe pineapple 😀Ok, the great news is that I have finally found a food blogging marathon. Can you believe this was happening for four years and I couldn’t find it till now. Google, how could you? Anyway, I found it and then had to wait for a month to sign up and then another month to participate. If nothing else, the kitchen has taught me patience.So I am part of this Blogging Marathon. Yay!

The rules are – 3 Fritters in 3 Days from 3 Cpuntries. Wiki says Fritters = Batter + Filling + Deeeep Fry! Yumm

Here is my recipe for Apple Fritters and from the sketchy info I got, it is an American Classic

WHAT YOU NEED

3/4 cup All purpose flour

Pinch of baking powder

Pinch of salt

1/2 cup yogurt /curds

1 Egg

4 Medium sized apples

Oil for frying

1/4 cup Sugar

2 tsp Cinnamon

WHAT TO DO

Mix the flour, baking powder and salt

In a separate bowl beat egg and mix it with the yogurt

mix the wet with the dry ingredients

Core the apples and cut them into thin rings (around 1/4 inch thickness). Then cut out a portion from the centre with a cookie cutter to make the apple rings

IMG-20150611-WA0018

heat oil

mix sugar and cinnamon in a plate. If you are a cinnamon fan like me, feel free to increase the quantity of cinnamon by another teaspoon.

dip the apple on the batter and gently place it in the oil. Fry till both sides are golden brown.

sprinkle sugar mix while still hot.

Gobble it up ASAP.

Notes-

1. I found that I did not need the entire amount of sugar since I like a subtle sweet instead of it being overpowering. So adjust according to your taste. You can use the balance sugar mix for your tea or coffee.

2. If you have batter remaining, you can add some chilly powder, more salt and herbs and use the batter for onion or capsicum rings. I did and they were not so bad.

3. Every page I read on apple rings advised to serve immediately on making them. I did, not that I needed an excuse.

4. I did not peel the apple and it tasted good. But you can peel if you so want.

Happy Fritters!

15 thoughts on “Blogging Marathon – Apple Fritters

  1. Ah didn’t realize you had to wait for so long to be part of this..glad you are now..that’s a great snack and I personally enjoyed it with chocolate sauce. of course chocolate sauce makes everything good. however on its own I felt this has a great potential..nice one..

    Like

Leave a Reply

