Rava Idli

   

Usually when I think about blogging a recipe it’s usually for a preset theme or something I find new and exotic. I rarely blog about items I make on a weekly basis or dishes that I don’t need a recipe but go mostly by muscle memory. 

I didn’t have anything to blog for the CCChallenge today. I was racking my brains to come up with something suitable while roasting rava for the rava idli. Eureka! 

  

As I started writing this down I realized how much my recipe evolved. Most of my recipes for day to day dishes are sourced from my mother or mother in law. Then I modify and substitute here and there. In this case I also added some pointers from my favorite tv show chef – Venkatesh Bhat of Samayal Samayal. 

So here goes –

Makes 14 medium sized / 10 large sized idlis

WHAT WE NEED

Rava / Semolina                  1 Cup

Oil                                             1 tbsp

Mustard Seeds                       1/2 tsp

Bengal Gram/ Chana Dal     1/2 tsp

Green Chilly (medium)         1-2

Ginger (finely chopped)        1″ piece

Carrot (finely chopped)         1 small

Coriander leaves                  As needed

Grated Coconut                       2 tbsp

Baking soda                              1/4 tsp

Curds   (See note)                   1 Cup

Salt
WHAT TO DO

  • Dry roast the rava till it lets out its aroma and keep aside
  • Heat the oil. Add mustard seeds.
  • Once the seeds splutter add ginger, finely chopped chillies and Chana dal.
  • Once the DSL turns golden brown, switch off the heat and add them to the rava. Mix well
  • Add the finely chopped carrot, grated coconut, coriander leaves and salt. Mix well.
  • Add the curds and mix thoroughly. If the resultant batter is too thick you can add curds or water to make it into a idli batter consistency.
  • Set aside for 30 minutes.
  • Grease the idli mould plates 
  • Check the batter. It should have hardened because the rava would have soaked in the entire curd. Add water or buttermilk(see note) to get it to idli batter consistency.
  • Pour into the idli moulds and steam for 12 minutes
  • Once you switch off the heat, let the idlis remain in for another five minutes before you open the vessel.
  • You can either have it as is (I do) or with some yummy coconut chutney (like the husband).
  • Enjoy!

  

NOTES

  1. The crux of this recipe is in the curds. Slightly sour curds give you softer idlis but you can use fresh curds and still get a tasty meal.
  2. Another critical aspect is the ratio of curds to the rava. It depends on the rava as to how much curds it is able to absorb. Estimates range from 1:1 (rava to curd ratio) to 1:2. You can try and see what works best for you.
  3. What works best for me is – 1 cup curds and little water in the beginning and I add around 1/4 to 1/2 cup of very thin buttermilk after the 30 minutes of resting time.
  4. If your idlis seem dense then increase the oil to 2 tbsp or the baking soda to 1/2 tsp. 

This is my entry for the Cooking from Cookbook Challenge hosted by  Srivalli.

  

4 thoughts on “Rava Idli

Leave a Reply

